

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



SOLID STATE CHEMISTRY

Journal of Solid State Chemistry 171 (2003) 1-2

http://elsevier.com/locate/jssc

#### Foreword

# Twenty-Third Rare Earth Research Conference

The Twenty-Third Rare Earth Research Conference was held July 13–18, 2002, at the University of California in Davis, California, USA. These conferences are held every 3 years and are devoted to the science and technology of the rare-earth elements. The facilities for the conference provided ample opportunity for informal discussion and cross-fertilization from various disciplines of research on the rare earth elements. The weather was outstanding and the banquet at Napa Valley provided a great venue for the final social event of the conference. The conference at Davis was attended by 210 scientists representing 19 countries.

The conference was assisted by UCDavis Events and Conferences. In particular, I thank Julie Sheenan, who was responsible for registration, coordination of the local facilities, and the banquet. The conference is sponsored by the nonprofit Rare Earth Research Conferences, Inc. The majority of financing of the conference comes through registration fees. The ability to raise funds for this conference allows partial support for junior faculty, students, and some of the invited speakers through either reduced registration or partial travel support. The 23rd Rare Earth Research Conference was also supported by the University of California, Mathematical and Physical Science Division, the Seaborg Institute and Chemistry Division of Los Alamos National Laboratory, the Materials Research Institute of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Bracco Research USA, PIDC, Treibacher Auermet, Inel Inc., and Arris International Corporation. The success of this meeting would not have been possible without their financial assistance.

The highlights of the meetings were the presentation of the Frank H. Spedding Award and the Plenary Speakers. This year's Spedding award went to Lynn Boatner, Oakridge National Laboratory. The award was sponsored by the Rare Earth Research Conferences, Inc.. The plenary speakers were Norman Edelstein, Martha Greenblatt, Andries Meijerink, and William J. Evans.

The success of this meeting is due to the outstanding contribution of the advisory committee, the session chairs, and the Proceedings Editorial Board. Their names are listed below:

### **Proceedings Editorial Board**

Herbert B. Silber: *Proceedings Editor-in-Chief*Lester R. Morss
John Greedan
Michael F. Reid

## **International Organizing Committee**

G. Adachi

J. C. Bünzli

G. Meyer

G. Lander

H. Nitsche

P. Canfield

K. A. Gschneidner

J. Takats

R. S. Puche

A. Sella

J. Brennan

### **Session Chairs**

Alicia de Andres
Ballouk Rafik
John Brennan
Jean-Claude Bunzli
Sue Clark
Bernard Jacquier
Mark Jensen
Jean-Claude Krupa
Toshiyuki Masui
Tom Meade
Ken Nash
Mary Neu
Thomas Schleid

## **Board of Directors**

Andrea Sella Jinke Tang

Lynda Soderholm: Past Conference Chair

Spedding Award Committee Chair Peter Dorhout: Program Chair Herbert Silber: Proceedings Editor

Cindy Ungerman: Secretary (Colorado State University) Eileen Rivera: Secretary (University of California, Davis)

On behalf of the International Organizing Committee, I also thank the Program Chair, Peter Dorhout, for his hard work in putting together an excellent program that was stimulating and cross-cutting in scientific disciplines.

Susan M. Kauzlarich General Conference Chair

Department of Chemistry, University of California, One Shields Avenue, Davis, CA 95616, USA E-mail address: jssc@chem.ucdavis.edu